The Top 12 Things I Carried

With a wheelie suitcase and a 48-liter backpack, I definitely didn’t pack light for my trip abroad. So when I returned home I vowed to thoroughly analyze everything I brought in an effort to determine the must-haves for next time versus the items that simply weighed me down.

In order, here are the-not-so-obvious things I’m super happy I had:

1. Sports Bras with Pockets from Lululemon

bra

While certainly not the cheapest item, I found myself wearing these practically everyday. It left me confident I wouldn’t get my phone or money stolen and made it super quick to snap photos while hiking. Probably the one item I’d choose to take on my next trip if I could only have one thing on this list.

2. Osprey Three-Liter Water Bladder

bladder

This was my first time using a water bladder and was so happy with the one I chose. Compared to others, I found this bladder to be larger and more reliable (I heard many horror stories of people’s bladders springing leaks or only holding a liter). I loved that the hose easily detached for cleaning and storing and there’s a magnetic piece (featured here at the very top) so that the hose didn’t stray too far from the strap of my backpack. Total winner.

3. Cross-Body Bag from Lululemon

lulu bag

While I did have a money belt, I typically found myself using this purse or my day pack (see below) if I needed a bit more room. My sister got both my mom and me hooked on this bag, and I truly can’t recommend it enough. It appears small but can hold a book, sunglasses, apple, and change purse with ease. I also love that it has a little clip for a water bottle (as pictured above) so you don’t have to worry about a bulging bag with water spilling inside it.

4. Inflatable Neck Pillow

neck pillow

From flights to overnight buses, this inflatable neck pillow was perfect. It took up zero room and weight in my bag and with an easy carrying case, I always had ear plugs and an eye mask on hand too.

5. Darn Tough Ankle Socks

socks

While I’m a big fan of Smart Wool (and use them almost exclusively for hiking), I was turned onto this Vermont brand right before my trip and bought a few different types of running socks before I left. They held up to everything! And continue to be so comfortable and sweat-proof. Heading to their website now to stock up.

6. Packable Day Pack by EMS 

EMS foldable pack

I was extremely pleased with this day pack because it could fit a ton (like my laptop, rain coat, book, and change of clothes no problem), had a nice zippered upper compartment for small items like sunglasses, and water bottle holders on each side. The fact that it folded in on itself put it over the top for easy packing and stowing.

7. Jump Rope

jumprope

As my friends can attest to, I go kind of crazy if I don’t get in some sort of physical activity each day.  As there were often no gyms on the road (and the weather and running paths were quite unpredictable), having this handy jump rope made it super easy to get in a quick sweat sesh wherever I was.

8. Toothbrush Cover

toothbrush

Your toothbrush is bound to fall on the floor or have to touch a countertop, and who knows what’s been on either of those. I actually brought two of these for the five-month trip, changing half way through.

9. Extension cord with many plugs and a 2 –> 3 prong adaptor

extension cord

This was an item that got added in at the last second, and I was so happy to have it. I can’t tell you the amount of times I was placed at a bed or desk far from a plug or there were no more outlets available. Also, having the 2 –> 3 prong converter was a total life saver when it came to charging my laptop.

10. Ziplocs, tissues, pens, and wipes shoved into the outer pocket at the last minute

ziplocs

I can’t count the number of times I needed a ziploc, lost a pen, or really needed something to use for toilet paper (although these were pretty great). These small, last minute additions were strongly appreciated.

11. One paperback book

That I then exchanged multiple times and finally gave away so I didn’t have to travel home with it. I brought an e-reader as well, but I find nothing truly replaces the feeling of flipping the pages of a good book.

12. Extra duffle bag

duffle

I threw this easily packable duffle into the outside of my suitcase at the last minute and man was I happy I did. It was perfect for trekking when we had a horseman, lugging things into town, and bringing back all the clothes and souvenirs I bought (thank you American Airlines for the second checked bag free!)

 

Did I nail it or totally miss the mark? What are your must-have items for traveling? 


One thought on “The Top 12 Things I Carried

  1. I am thrilled to see my last minute additions to your packing made the list. Thanks for sharing your journey. It’s been wonderful. You continue to inspire always.

Leave a comment